Elsie Martineau, youth ambassador for Polyvalente La Samare in Plessisville, Quebec hosted Monck Public School from Bracebridge, Ontario on January 16th. Here are her thoughts on the first half of her exchange.

 

I wanted to do this exchange because my sisters did it and they had fun. I think that the exchange is a really great opportunity to improve your English and meet new people. I always thought it would be fun to be part of it but after I realized how lucky I was!

My favourite memory of the trip is the moment when the other group arrived. Just before they arrived everybody was excited to meet their twin and we were all singing songs outside while we were waiting for them, it was so funny! When they finally arrived we were all looking for our twin and I’ll forever keep this memory in my mind.

I think that my favourite activity was Valcartier, because we were free to be with the other twins.  We had fun sliding on the big snow slide, the Everest, with people who had never done it and they just didn’t know how stressful it is! It was my favourite activity because I really connected with other twins. It was fun for us to have a better look on our community and learn things outside of school!

My experience hosting was wonderful! We had the chance to be the first hosts of the exchange, which means we were the ones making the first connections. I noticed that even if we live in the same country there are things that aren’t the same and that are done differently.

I think the exchange changed me a lot! It changed my point of view on myself and the activities and meeting the other youth really changed me as well.

I would recommend this experience to everyone! It’s a week where you are working on yourself a lot but it’s a great opportunity and I find myself really lucky for having experienced this!

I will always remember the day they left….Oh my god… I didn’t think I would be sad because I knew see my twin again in four months but when she gave me a big hug, told me goodbye, I started crying. We were together nine days twenty-four hours on twenty-four hours together, we even had established our own routine and when I realized that I’d have to go back to my normal life again I was really sad.

 

Elsie Martineau

I’m 13 years old, I live in Villeroy on a farm with approximately 100 cows and many more animals. I’m rather active on social media, but I’m also outside a lot with the animals. I decided to go on this exchange with the goal of perfecting my English and

Formulaire de demande – Chorale virtuelle:

Remarque : Les frais de participation sont de 50 $ pour une séance de six semaines ou de 75 $ pour s’inscrire aux deux séances. Cela comprend les répétitions, toute la musique et tout le matériel requis, ainsi que la participation facultative au programme d’échange virtuel. Ces frais seront exigibles une fois qu’ils auront été acceptés dans le programme.

Expériences Canada s’engage à assurer un accès complet à son programme, peu importe la géographie, les capacités ou les circonstances économiques. Les demandes de financement de mesures spéciales limitées sont examinées au cas par cas.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la chorale virtuelle ou du processus de demande, veuillez communiquer avec nous à l’adresse communications@experiencescanada.ca.

Les candidatures se terminent le dimanche 7 novembre.

Les répétitions hebdomadaires auront lieu les mardis à 16 h, heure du Pacifique (19 h, HE, 8 h 30, T.-N.-L.), du 9 novembre au 14 décembre et du 1 février au 8 mars.

Virtual Choir application
Address / Adresse *
Address / Adresse
City / Ville
State/Province
Zip/Postal
I identify my gender as / Genre: *
Applications are open to youth 12-17 years old.
Which 6 week session would you like to sign up to (you may select both) / À quelle séance souhaitez-vous vous inscrire:

Tell us about yourself / Parlez-nous un peu de vous

What is your singing experiences / Quelles sont vos expériences en chant: *
List as many that apply
Do you sing high, medium, or low? / Chantez-vous haut, moyen ou bas?
Do you play a musical instrument? / Jouez-vous d’un instrument de musique?
eg: Possible scheduling conflicts

Collection and Use of Personal Information

As the parent/guardian, I hereby give my consent for EXPERIENCES CANADA to collect the personal information required for submission to the EXPERIENCES CANADA Virtual Choir. I understand that this personal information is required for the purposes of selection and program delivery and that it will only be used by EXPERIENCES CANADA or disclosed to select third parties who are acting as suppliers, service providers or who provide funds to EXPERIENCES CANADA and who have agreed to protect the personal information supplied by EXPERIENCES CANADA.

//

En tant que parent/tuteur, j’autorise EXPÉRIENCES CANADA à recueillir tous les renseignements personnels requis pour participer à la Chorale virtuelle d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA. Je comprends que ces renseignements personnels sont nécessaires aux fins de sélection et d’exécution du programme et qu’ils ne seront employés que par EXPÉRIENCES CANADA ou divulgués à des tierces parties qui agissent à titre de fournisseurs, de fournisseurs de services ou de bailleurs de fonds pour EXPÉRIENCES CANADA et qui ont accepté de protéger les renseignements personnels transmis par EXPÉRIENCES CANADA.

By checking “Yes” I indicate that I freely give my consent to the collection and use of personal information of this participant as set out above. // En cochant « Oui », j’indique que je donne mon libre consentement à la collecte et à l’utilisation des renseignements personnels, tel que décrit ci-dessus. *
I understand that my child may have the opportunity to express himself/herself verbally or in written form, create or appear in photographs and/or video recordings at any point during the EXPERIENCES CANADA virtual choir, individually or as part of the group. / Je comprends que mon enfant peut avoir l’occasion de s’exprimer verbalement ou par écrit, de prendre des photographies/de produire des vidéos, ou d’y figurer, à tout moment dans le cadre du programme de Chorale virtuelle d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA, individuellement ou en groupe. *

Logo

Send me updates / Envoyez-moi des mises à jour

Sign Up to our Newsletter /
Abonnez-vous à notre Lettre D'information

 

 

 

Sign Up to our Newsletter /
Abonnez-vous à notre Lettre D'information